Summer After Sophomore: Not Ready for School, Not Ready for Adulthood

Day 100

As the completion of my last week of freedom approaches, I am in a hurry to do all of things I planned to do at the beginning of the summer. This past week has been spent watching tons of movies and shows and back-to-school shopping (i.e. buying soap; I honestly have too many supplies from my past years of nerd-dom). There’s laundry to do, rooms to clean, and clothes to pack (namely, which ones make me look less of the dork I actually am).

The question is to wear or not wear the shirt at college (I'll keep it regardless. No way I'm getting rid of this gem)

The question is to wear or not wear the shirt at college (I’ll keep it regardless. No way I’m getting rid of this gem) A M Montgomery 2012

 

Partially due to my nostalgic movie tally, I’ve also been cramming in enough family time to the point that Mom is concerned/suspicious about the one-eighty in my behavior.

“Ashley…Are you okay?” “Why are you patting my arm?” “What? What is it? A hug? What’s wrong with you?” “You don’t act like this at school, do you?” “No, I don’t want to hug you. I just hugged you!”

The funny thing is it’s not like this is the first time I’m leaving home. For school, this is the third time. And while certain preparation gets easier with experience (packing and budgeting, for example; jk my wallet and scale cry at night) and I certainly didn’t have trouble leaving home in the past, the difference between then and now is that I was kid then. But now I’m an adult.

Okay, almost an adult (Source)

Okay, almost an adult (Source)

It’s the most ludicrous label you can put on me. I barely know how to cook. Everyone seems to guard the secret of how to do taxes. I’m supposed to pretend to like sensible pumps and blazers and actually have clue of exactly where my life is headed in five years! Seriously? Me? Have you met me?

This was my profile picture for a very long time.

This was my profile picture for a very long time.

Some people can make the adjustment easily and maybe when the time comes, I will too. But for now (for the next week at the very least), I will bask in the indulgence of not being too concerned with my bank account, remark that my favorite outfits are the ones you can wear fuzzy socks and Superhero-themed t-shirts with, and watch hours and hours of The Legend of Korra just because I can (and because someone else pays for the internet).

So take that adulthood! (x)

So take that adulthood! (x)

[InsertCleverPhraseHere],

A. Monty

P.S. The page for the summer’s movie tally will be up next week!

Movie Tally

Camp Rock (2008)

Camp Rock 2 (2010) (You don’t realize how bad your taste in movies were until you watch something you liked, directed by Kenny Ortega and starring the Jonas Brothers)

Despicable Me 2 (2013) (FTS!) The minions are the best. Ever.

Now You See Me (2013) (This is the 3rd time I’ve seen this movie this summer; I think I have a problem)

The Dark Knight Rises (2012)

Song of the Week: “Hey Momma/Hit the Road Jack” by Pentatonix

Leave a Reply

