Signs of a Senior: Start of Something New

It’s weird. I literally have about six weeks left of senior year and while I am panicking (slightly), I also feel like it’s time to go. (Check on me six months after graduation and let’s see if I feel the same way)

As a senior, I’m definitely used to my routine and find myself acting as a crotchety senior citizen whenever something changes the process:

Why oh why is the dining hall serving French toast sticks once a month instead of every two weeks???

What is this? Why is the hulking construction trailer now blocking my path to class? Back in my day, it was clear paths and open spaces, I tell ‘ya.

Did this professor really give us only two days for a group assignment? This is simply not the way things are done!

But I digress.

For the past few months, however, I’ve been trying something new. I’ve been “natural” (meaning no chemicals used to alter my hair texture) since I was fifteen but still straightened my hair with a flat iron for the most part. Now, however, I’m, what I consider, natural natural. No chemicals, no heat.

tumblr_o4lnb7HyuX1qfal8qo1_250 tumblr_o4lnb7HyuX1qfal8qo2_250 tumblr_o4lnb7HyuX1qfal8qo3_250 tumblr_o4lnb7HyuX1qfal8qo4_400 tumblr_o4lnb7HyuX1qfal8qo5_400 tumblr_o4lnb7HyuX1qfal8qo6_250 tumblr_o4lnb7HyuX1qfal8qo7_250 tumblr_o4lnb7HyuX1qfal8qo8_250 tumblr_o4lnb7HyuX1qfal8qo9_400 tumblr_o4lnb7HyuX1qfal8qo10_400 tumblr_o4lndeh0Cc1qfal8qo1_400 tumblr_o4lndeh0Cc1qfal8qo2_400 tumblr_o4lndeh0Cc1qfal8qo3_400

Initially, I only planned to venture on this task for thirty days to see if it would make my hair healthier.

But as it turns out, keeping my hair in its natural curly state is a smaller time commitment (which makes you wonder just how long it takes me to straighten my hair, right?) so I’ve just been keeping it like this.

I’ve been getting tons of compliments, and have more free time, but honestly, I’m not sure if I’m doing this right? I’ve researched a ton and asked a few other curly-haired mavens for advice, but most of this is trial-and-error, a big honking leap of faith, and a lot of hoping for the best. I’m still pretty new at this.

I thought I’d leave some resources behind for those of you who may be interested in this natural hair journey (it’s pretty fun). Some of the most helpful for me have been:

  • Naturally Curly which has tons of articles and videos about figuring out your hair type, what products to use, how to use them, etc.
  • UK Curly Girl She’s a youtuber who’s been documenting her journey through natural hair and shows tons of methods she likes to use for certain looks (You should follow a youtuber who has a similar hair type to yours; these video tutorials are a lifesaver)

These aren’t the only sites I use since I mostly watch videos of different hair care methods but most of those videos were ones linked to from NaturallyCurly. Do you have any tips or tricks? Leave in the comments below!

As the end of my undergrad approaches, it’s always helpful to distract myself with something new. Helps me to cope with pending application notifications and midterm projects if I’m also consumed with the question: Should I straighten my hair for graduation, pay to get it done, or leave it natural?

Signs of a Senior: Start of Something New

Signs of a Senior: Start of Something New

Leave a Reply

